Purchase, Edith Perry Chapman Fund, 1951; acquired from The Museum of Modern Art, Gift of A. Conger Goodyear
On view at The Met Fifth Avenue in Petrie Court Café
The Ile de France began its existence as a torso. There were, in fact, three separate versions of it between 1907 and 1921. Only in 1925 did Maillol feel it necessary to add the extremities to create the final Ile de France, perhaps best understood as an augmentation rather than a completion of the earlier torso.
Signature: On base behind right leg: A MAILLOL
A.C. Goodyear , New York (1925–30) ; Museum of Modern Art, New York