Go to Navigation
Go to Content
Go to Search
Part of Medieval Art and The Cloisters
Hans of Landshut (German, Landshut, active late 15th century)
Date: 1498Accession Number: 2008.278
Date: 1440–46Accession Number: 37.52.1–.6
Gil de Siloe (Spanish, active 1475–1505)
Date: ca. 1489–93Accession Number: 69.88
Date: ca. 1500Accession Number: 53.20.2
Date: 1375–1400Accession Number: 48.85
Workshop of Tilman Heysacker (German, active Cologne 1487–died 1515)
Date: late 15th centuryAccession Number: 1973.348
Browse current and upcoming exhibitions and events.
The gallery takes its name from the six large, stained-glass windows that come from the Carmelite church of Boppard on the Rhine near Koblenz that date from 1440–46.
Nearby is a large mid-fifteenth-century Aragonese alabaster altar predella, or base, along with an imposing copper-alloy eagle lectern. Large-scale sculptures include the central shrines of two altarpieces. Tapestry hangings, Spanish lusterware, aquamanilia, and fine examples of German late Gothic silversmiths' work are also featured.
Main Building 1000 Fifth Avenue (at 82nd Street), New York, NY 10028 | 212-535-7710 (TTY: 212-650-2921)
The Cloisters 99 Margaret Corbin Drive, Fort Tryon Park, New York, NY 10040 | 212-923-3700 (TTY: 212-570-3828)