Designer: Designed by George Grant Elmslie (American, Aberdeenshire 1871–1952 Chicago, Illinois)
Manufacturer: Manufactured by Purcell, Feick and Elmslie (1909–13)
Geography: Made in Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Dimensions: 63 x 15 in. (160 x 38.1 cm)
Credit Line: Gift of Roger G. Kennedy, 1972
Accession Number: 1972.20.2
Progressive architects Purcell, Feick and Elmslie designed Prairie School buildings and interiors. Partners William Gray Purcell and George Feick, Jr. (1907–9) added George Grant Elmslie (1909–13) to the firm. After Feick left in 1913, Purcell and Elmslie continued as a partnership until 1922. For the Dr J. G. Cross Houses, Purcell, Feick and Elmslie were hired in 1911 for renovations that included a remodeling of the third floor attic, the addition of a new front porch and entrance, leaded-glass windows, and architectural treatments. This window is one of three identical windows that were likely installed in the stair hall. The motif of abstracted organic shapes derives from Elmslie's experience as Louis Sullivan's chief draftsman for fifteen years. This stretched pelt motif was repeated in designs for the leaded-glass transom window and front door, as well as sawn wood porch ornaments, unifying the interior and exterior decorative program.