Quantcast
Ticketed Talk

Gods and Goddesses

Gods and Goddesses

Kurt Behrendt, Assistant Curator, Asian Art, MMA

The multifaceted deities of the Hindu, Buddhist, and Jain religious faiths are at the foundation of one of the world’s great sculptural traditions. Images created in stone and bronze gave lasting form to a vast pantheon of deities, and were the focus of devotion across the Indian subcontinent since at least the third century B.C. This three-part lecture series addresses the historic and religious history of South Asia, focusing on the great periods of artistic production.

This week, The Early Buddhist Imagery of South Asia.

View the series

Tickets to this event include Museum admission.

Above: Standing Bodisattva Maitreya (Buddha of the Future), ca. 3rd century. Schist. H. 31 3/4 in. (80.7 cm). The Metropolitan Museum of Art, New York. Rogers Fund, 1913 (13.96.17)

See more in Ticketed Talks

Related Series
and Events
Stories in Silver Series
Monday, October 20, 2014, 11:00 a.m.
Masterworks Series
Wednesday, October 29, 2014, 6:00 p.m.
El Greco at the Met Series
Thursday, November 13, 2014, 6:00 p.m.
Life & Times Series
Tuesday, December 2, 2014, 11:00 a.m.
Rule, Britannia! Series
Wednesday, March 18, 2015, 11:00 a.m.
Sargent's Circle Series
Wednesday, May 27, 2015, 11:00 a.m.
Stories in Silver: Uncovering the Narrative in the Objects
Monday, October 27, 2014, 11:00 a.m.
Masterworks at the Met: Mannerism’s Perverse Beauty
Wednesday, October 29, 2014, 6:00 p.m.
Masterworks at the Met: Mannerism’s Perverse Beauty
Wednesday, November 5, 2014, 6:00 p.m.
Masterworks at the Met: Mannerism’s Perverse Beauty
Wednesday, November 12, 2014, 6:00 p.m.
El Greco: Spirit and Paradox
Thursday, November 13, 2014, 6:00 p.m.
El Greco: Spirit and Paradox
Thursday, November 20, 2014, 6:00 p.m.
Life & Times: Cubist Confetti
Tuesday, December 2, 2014, 11:00 a.m.
El Greco at the Met
Thursday, December 4, 2014, 6:00 p.m.
Life & Times: Games Cubists Play
Tuesday, December 9, 2014, 11:00 a.m.
Rule, Britannia! British Painting from Hogarth to the Pre-Raphaelites
Wednesday, March 18, 2015, 11:00 a.m.
Rule, Britannia! British Painting from Hogarth to the Pre-Raphaelites
Wednesday, March 25, 2015, 11:00 a.m.
Rule, Britannia! British Painting from Hogarth to the Pre-Raphaelites
Wednesday, April 1, 2015, 11:00 a.m.
Rule, Britannia! British Painting from Hogarth to the Pre-Raphaelites
Wednesday, April 8, 2015, 11:00 a.m.
Rule, Britannia! British Painting from Hogarth to the Pre-Raphaelites
Wednesday, April 15, 2015, 11:00 a.m.
Rule, Britannia! British Painting from Hogarth to the Pre-Raphaelites
Wednesday, April 22, 2015, 11:00 a.m.
Van Gogh in Bloom
Wednesday, May 13, 2015, 2:30 p.m.
Sargent’s Circle of Friends
Wednesday, May 27, 2015, 11:00 a.m.
Sargent’s Circle of Friends
Wednesday, June 10, 2015, 11:00 a.m.
24 Dances

Enter weekly for a chance to win tickets to performances and talks.

C&L brochure

Featuring: Artist in Residence The Civilians, Attacca Quartet, Ryoji Ikeda's Superposition, John Zorn, Salif Keita, Cory Arcangel, Christopher Taylor, Cecile McLorin Salvant, Henry Louis Gates, Jr., Anna Wintour, and more.

View the 2014–15 season brochure.

Hearing Loss icons

The Grace Rainey Rogers Auditorium and the Ruth and Harold D. Uris Center for Education are equipped with infrared sound enhancement systems (with headsets and neck loops). To obtain a headset or neck loop please ask an usher. Headsets and neck loops are available free of charge with identification. Real-time captioning is also available upon request.