Quantcast
Performance

The Grand Tour

The Grand Tour

Wednesday, January 21, 2015, 8:00 p.m.

European Paintings Galleries

“Here too, the portraits seemed to stop and listen...joyous.” —The New York Times

Hailed by The New York Times as “perhaps the most perfect realization yet of the mission of Met Museum Presents,” The Grand Tour, which sold out both performances last season, returns with music from the British Isles for solo harp in the Met’s English galleries; Dutch songs and dances played on the recorders, shawms, bagpipes, and lute seen in the paintings of Bruegel, Vermeer, and Rembrandt; music from 16th-century Spain in the El Greco gallery; and, honoring the Met’s 17th-century Italian galleries, music composed for Concerto delle donne, the group of professional female singers who revolutionized the role of women in music during the late Renaissance under Alfonso II, Duke of Ferrara.

Tickets also available for Thursday, January 22, 8:00 pm

Tickets to this event include Museum admission.

Bring the kids for $1

Above: TENET © Stephanie Berger

Number of places:Choose a section: Seating chart


  •  

  •  66 seats remaining

See more in Concerts and Performances, Bring the Kids

Related Series
and Events
CONTACT! Series
Saturday, March 7, 2015, 7:00 p.m.
Life & Times Series
Tuesday, December 2, 2014, 11:00 a.m.
Masterworks Series
Wednesday, October 29, 2014, 6:00 p.m.
El Greco at the Met Series
Thursday, November 13, 2014, 6:00 p.m.
Spark Series
Monday, December 1, 2014, 6:00 p.m.
Rule, Britannia! Series
Wednesday, March 18, 2015, 11:00 a.m.
Il Mantovano Hebreo (The Mantuan Jew)
Saturday, October 25, 2014, 7:00 p.m.
Masterworks at the Met: Mannerism’s Perverse Beauty
Wednesday, October 29, 2014, 6:00 p.m.
Masterworks at the Met: Mannerism’s Perverse Beauty
Wednesday, November 5, 2014, 6:00 p.m.
Masterworks at the Met: Mannerism’s Perverse Beauty
Wednesday, November 12, 2014, 6:00 p.m.
El Greco: Spirit and Paradox
Thursday, November 13, 2014, 6:00 p.m.
El Greco: Spirit and Paradox
Thursday, November 20, 2014, 6:00 p.m.
Life & Times: Cubist Confetti
Tuesday, December 2, 2014, 11:00 a.m.
El Greco at the Met
Thursday, December 4, 2014, 6:00 p.m.
Celtic Christmas Vespers: Apollo's Fire
Friday, December 5, 2014, 7:00 p.m.
Life & Times: Games Cubists Play
Tuesday, December 9, 2014, 11:00 a.m.
El Greco’s Toledo: Capella de Ministrers
Friday, December 12, 2014, 7:00 p.m.
El Greco’s Toledo: Capella de Ministrers
Saturday, December 13, 2014, 3:00 p.m.
El Greco’s Toledo: Capella de Ministrers
Saturday, December 13, 2014, 7:00 p.m.
American Boychoir's The World Celebrates Christmas in New York
Tuesday, December 16, 2014, 7:00 p.m.
Quartet for the Festive Time
Wednesday, December 17, 2014, 7:00 p.m.
Vivaldi’s Four Seasons
Thursday, December 18, 2014, 7:00 p.m.
The Grand Tour
Thursday, January 22, 2015, 8:00 p.m.
Turning Music into Gold
Thursday, January 29, 2015, 7:00 p.m.
Obsession
Friday, February 6, 2015, 7:00 p.m.
Leonard Lauder, Collecting Cubism
Wednesday, February 11, 2015, 6:00 p.m.
The Unknown “Lincoln-Douglass” Debate
Friday, February 13, 2015, 6:00 p.m.
CONTACT!
Saturday, March 7, 2015, 7:00 p.m.
A Conversation on Mark Rothko
Wednesday, March 11, 2015, 6:00 p.m.
Rule, Britannia! British Painting from Hogarth to the Pre-Raphaelites
Wednesday, March 18, 2015, 11:00 a.m.
Rule, Britannia! British Painting from Hogarth to the Pre-Raphaelites
Wednesday, March 25, 2015, 11:00 a.m.
Clarion Society Performs Victoria’s Requiem
Saturday, March 28, 2015, 7:00 p.m.
Rule, Britannia! British Painting from Hogarth to the Pre-Raphaelites
Wednesday, April 1, 2015, 11:00 a.m.
Seven Words
Thursday, April 2, 2015, 7:00 p.m.
Rule, Britannia! British Painting from Hogarth to the Pre-Raphaelites
Wednesday, April 8, 2015, 11:00 a.m.
Rule, Britannia! British Painting from Hogarth to the Pre-Raphaelites
Wednesday, April 15, 2015, 11:00 a.m.
Rule, Britannia! British Painting from Hogarth to the Pre-Raphaelites
Wednesday, April 22, 2015, 11:00 a.m.
Wild Sound: Glenn Kotche and Third Coast Percussion
Friday, May 29, 2015, 7:00 p.m.
CONTACT!
Friday, June 5, 2015, 7:00 p.m.
24 Dances

Enter weekly for a chance to win tickets to performances and talks.

C&L brochure

Featuring: Artist in Residence The Civilians, Attacca Quartet, Ryoji Ikeda's Superposition, John Zorn, Salif Keita, Cory Arcangel, Christopher Taylor, Cecile McLorin Salvant, Henry Louis Gates, Jr., Anna Wintour, and more.

View the 2014–15 season brochure.

Under 30 Selected concerts throughout the year offer special $1 tickets for kids (ages 7–16) accompanied by an adult purchasing a full-price ticket (maximum three children's tickets per paying adult).

See a list of selected Bring the Kids concerts.