Quantcast
Performance

ETHEL and Friends

ETHEL

Saturday, June 7, 5:00–8:00 p.m.

Great Hall Balcony Show location on map

Ralph Farris, viola
Tema Watstein, violin
Kip Jones, violin
Dorothy Lawson, cello

ETHEL and Friends is a music series specifically designed for the Museum's Balcony Bar.

ETHEL is one of the most acclaimed string quartets in the contemporary classical field. With an eye on tradition and an ear to the future, ETHEL is a leading force in concert music's reengagement with musical vernaculars, fusing diverse traditions into a vibrant sound. Expect familiar classical tunes mixed with a fair share of the group's signature, cutting-edge repertoire. Guest artists and collaborators will also make periodic appearances. Relax and enjoy cocktails and appetizers while looking out over the majestic Great Hall.

Friday, April 11 and Saturday, April 12, 2014
MusicTalks Duo
Presented by America-Israel Cultural Foundation (AICF) Artists

Elad Kabilio, cello

Ben Laude, piano
Works by Britten, Debussy, Shostakovich, and Chopin

Friday, April 18 and Saturday, April 19, 2014
The Larch Ensemble

Tema Watstein, violin*
Ralph Farris, violin and viola*
Elizabeth DiFelice, piano
Works by Bach, Bartók, Farris, and Mozart

Friday, April 25 and Saturday, April 26, 2014
Decoda

Paul Cho, clarinet
Claire Bryant, cello
David Kaplan, piano
Works by Bach, Bartók, Harbison, Mozart, and Tansman

Friday, May 2 and Saturday, May 3, 2014
Lumiere String Quartet

Victoria Paterson, violin
Maxim Moston, violin
JJ Johnson, viola
Dave Eggar, cello
Works by Bartók, Debussy, MacDowell & Stravinsky

Friday, May 9 and Saturday, May 10, 2014
Members of ETHEL

Kip Jones, violin
Tema Watstein, violin
Dorothy Lawson, cello
Works by Bach, Bartók, Ibert, Jones, Lawson, Mirabal

Friday, May 16 and Saturday, May 17, 2014
The Atyanti Duo

Allen Farnham, piano
Tomoko Ohno, piano
Works by Ravel, Rachmaninoff, Piazzolla, Gershwin, Farnham & Ohno

Friday, May 23 and Saturday, May 24, 2014
JP Jofre's Hard Tango Chamber Band

JP Jofre, bandoneón
Nick Danielson, violin
Daniela Candillari, piano
Works by Piazzolla, Brower & Jofre

Friday, May 30 and Saturday, May 31, 2014
Duo FarGo

Ralph Farris, violin & viola*
Jeanne Golan, piano
Works by Einhorn, Jones, Farris, Wiprud & Glass

Friday, June 6 and Saturday, June 7, 2014
Classical Jam

Jennifer Choi, violin
Justin Jay Hines, percussion
Wendy Law, cello
Works by Piazzolla, Susato, Riley & Huang Ruo

Friday, June 13 and Saturday, June 14, 2014
MusicTalks Duo

Elad Kabilio, cello
Ben Laude, piano
Works by Britten, Debussy, Shostakovich & Chopin

Friday, June 20 and Saturday, June 21, 2014
Decoda

Anna Elashvili, violin
Nathan Schram, viola
Caitlin Sullivan, cello
Works by Beethoven, Dohnanyi & Mark O'Connor

Friday, June 27 and Saturday, June 28, 2014
The Larch Ensemble

Tema Watstein, violin*
Ralph Farris, violin & viola*
Kathleen Supové, piano
Works by Bach, Bartók, Farris, Mozart & Woolf

Programs are subject to change.

* Denotes member of ETHEL

Image above: Photo of ETHEL by Stephanie Berger

Free with Museum admission

See more in Concerts and Performances

Other Occurrences

  • Performance

    ETHEL and Friends

    Friday, April 25, 5:00–8:00 p.m.

    Free with Museum admission

  • Performance

    ETHEL and Friends

    Saturday, April 26, 5:00–8:00 p.m.

    Free with Museum admission

  • Performance

    ETHEL and Friends

    Friday, May 2, 5:00–8:00 p.m.

    Free with Museum admission

  • Performance

    ETHEL and Friends

    Saturday, May 3, 5:00–8:00 p.m.

    Free with Museum admission

  • Performance

    ETHEL and Friends

    Friday, May 9, 5:00–8:00 p.m.

    Free with Museum admission

  • Performance

    ETHEL and Friends

    Saturday, May 10, 5:00–8:00 p.m.

    Free with Museum admission

  • Performance

    ETHEL and Friends

    Friday, May 16, 5:00–8:00 p.m.

    Free with Museum admission

  • Performance

    ETHEL and Friends

    Saturday, May 17, 5:00–8:00 p.m.

    Free with Museum admission

  • Performance

    ETHEL and Friends

    Friday, May 23, 5:00–8:00 p.m.

    Free with Museum admission

  • Performance

    ETHEL and Friends

    Saturday, May 24, 5:00–8:00 p.m.

    Free with Museum admission

Results per page
Balcony Lounge

Exclusively for Members at the Sustaining level and above, this new space offers a delicious menu of beverages and light snacks.

C&L brochure

Featuring: Alarm Will Sound in residence, Arvo Pärt, Chamber Opera at the Met, Philippe Jaroussky, Rosanne Cash, Susan Graham, Dance Heginbotham, Rebecca Newberger Goldstein, Stephen Pinker, and many more.

View the spring 2014 brochure.