Quantcast
Performance

ETHEL and Friends

ETHEL

Ralph Farris, viola
Kip Jones, violin
Dorothy Lawson, cello
Corin Lee, violin

ETHEL and Friends is a music series specifically designed for the Museum's Balcony Bar.

ETHEL is one of the most acclaimed string quartets in the contemporary classical field. With an eye on tradition and an ear to the future, ETHEL is a leading force in concert music's reengagement with musical vernaculars, fusing diverse traditions into a vibrant sound. Expect familiar classical tunes mixed with a fair share of the group's signature, cutting-edge repertoire. Guest artists and collaborators will also make periodic appearances. Relax and enjoy cocktails and appetizers while looking out over the majestic Great Hall.


Friday, July 3, and Saturday, July 4, 2015
Adrianna Mateo and Friends

Adrianna Mateo, violin
Jiliane Russo, cello
Salome Scheidegger, piano
Aaron Boscanin, Naomi Florin, Jude Ziliak, ensemble violins

Works by Mateo, Russo, McCarthy, Burrell, Weston, Perry

Friday, July 10, and Saturday, July 11, 2015
The Larch Ensemble

Zara Lawler, flute
Ralph Farris, viola*
Dorothy Lawson, cello*

Works by Bartók, Schickele, Ibert, Farris

Friday, July 17, and Saturday, July 18, 2015
JP Jofre's Hard Tango Chamber Band

JP Jofre, bandoneon
Ralph Farris, viola*
Pablo Cafici, piano

Works by Jofre, Piazzolla, Federico

Friday, July 24, and Saturday, July 25, 2015
Raja & Ralph

Ralph Farris, viola*
Raja Rahman, piano

Works by Hindemith, Pärt, Shostakovitch, Farris

Friday, July 31, and Saturday, August 1, 2015
JP Jofre's Hard Tango Chamber Band

JP Jofre, bandoneon
Amy Kang, cello
Pablo Cafici, piano

Works by Jofre, Piazzolla, Bach

Friday, August 7, and Saturday, August 8, 2015
TransAtlantic Duo

Evelyn Ulex, piano
Pablo Lavandera, piano

Works by Satie, Debussy, Piazzolla

Friday, August 14, and Saturday, August 15, 2015
Riverrun

John Ragusa, flute
Jeremy Wall, piano

Works by Wall, Jarrett, Shorter, Gismonti, Lyra

Friday, August 21, and Saturday, August 22, 2015
THEL

Ralph Farris, viola*
Dorothy Lawson, cello*
Corin Lee, violin*

Works by Carter, Ibert, Beethoven, Farris, Lawson

Friday, August 28, and Saturday, August 29, 2015
THEL

Ralph Farris, viola*
Dorothy Lawson, cello*
Corin Lee, violin*

Works by Carter, Bartók, Beethoven, Lawson, Farris


Programs are subject to change.

* Denotes member of ETHEL

Above: Photo of ETHEL by Erin Patrice O'Brien

Free with Museum admission

See more in Concerts and Performances, MetFridays: New York's Night Out

Balcony Lounge

Exclusively for Members at the Sustaining level and above, this new space offers a delicious menu of beverages and light snacks.

Cover of brochure

Featuring: The Return, Vijay Iyer, Chiara String Quartet, Tan Dun, William Kentridge, and more.

View the fall 2015 brochure.