Quantcast
Performance

ETHEL and Friends

ETHEL

Ralph Farris, viola
Kip Jones, violin
Dorothy Lawson, cello
Corin Lee, violin

ETHEL and Friends is a music series specifically designed for the Museum's Balcony Bar.

ETHEL is one of the most acclaimed string quartets in the contemporary classical field. With an eye on tradition and an ear to the future, ETHEL is a leading force in concert music's reengagement with musical vernaculars, fusing diverse traditions into a vibrant sound. Expect familiar classical tunes mixed with a fair share of the group's signature, cutting-edge repertoire. Guest artists and collaborators will also make periodic appearances. Relax and enjoy cocktails and appetizers while looking out over the majestic Great Hall.

Friday, February 27, and Saturday, February 28, 2015
ETHEL

Ralph Farris, viola*
Kip Jones, violin*
Dorothy Lawson, cello*
Corin Lee, violin*
Works by Jones, Gubaidulina, Lawson, Hedges, Farris, Kline

Friday, March 6, and Saturday, March 7, 2015
JP Jofre's Hard Tango Chamber Band

JP Jofre, bandoneón
Eric Silberger, violin
Siyi Fang, piano
Works by Jofre, Piazzolla, Bach

Friday, March 13, and Saturday, March 14, 2015
ETHEL

Ralph Farris, viola*
Kip Jones, violin*
Dorothy Lawson, cello*
Corin Lee, violin*
Works by Hu, Lee, Jones, Lawson, Farris, Childs, Glass

Friday, March 20, and Saturday, March 21, 2015
AME Trio

Victoria Paterson, violin
Arthur Fiacco, cello
Ming Aldrich-Gan, piano
Works by Bernstein, Bolcom, Mellits, Paterson, Welcher, Schoenfeld

Friday, March 27, and Saturday, March 28, 2015
Sweet Plantain

Joe Deninzon, violin/mandolin
Eddie Venegas, violin/trombone
Orlando Wells, viola
Leo Grinhauz, cello
Works by Venegas, Deninzon, Gotay, Jobim, Romero

Friday, April 3, and Saturday, April 4, 2015
THEL

Ralph Farris, viola*
Dorothy Lawson, cello*
Corin Lee, violin*
Works by Bartók, Farris, Lawson, Dohnányi, Ibert, Schickele

Friday, April 10, and Saturday, April 11, 2015
ETHEL

Ralph Farris, viola*
Kip Jones, violin*
Dorothy Lawson, cello*
Corin Lee, violin*
Works by Jones, Lawson, Farris, Kline, Lee, Hu, Friel

Friday, April 17, and Saturday, April 18, 2015
The Baev/Bračić Duo

Avigail Malachi-Baev, clarinet
Javor Bračić, piano
Works by Brahms, Poulenc, Gershwin, Verdi, Rossini, Faure

Saturday, April 25, 2015
Lumiere String Quartet

Victoria Paterson, violin
Alexander Sharpe, violin
Edward Malave, viola
Arthur Fiacco, cello
Works by Ravel, Debussy, Satie, Bartok, Stravinsky, Porter, Gershwin


Programs are subject to change.

* Denotes member of ETHEL

Above: Photo of ETHEL by Stephanie Berger

Free with Museum admission

See more in Concerts and Performances, MetFridays: New York's Night Out

Other Occurrences

  • Performance

    ETHEL and Friends

    Saturday, April 4, 5:00–8:00 p.m.

    Free with Museum admission

  • Performance

    ETHEL and Friends

    Friday, April 10, 5:00–8:00 p.m.

    Free with Museum admission

  • Performance

    ETHEL and Friends

    Saturday, April 11, 5:00–8:00 p.m.

    Free with Museum admission

  • Performance

    ETHEL and Friends

    Friday, April 17, 5:00–8:00 p.m.

    Free with Museum admission

  • Performance

    ETHEL and Friends

    Saturday, April 18, 5:00–8:00 p.m.

    Free with Museum admission

  • Performance

    ETHEL and Friends

    Friday, April 24, 5:00–8:00 p.m.

    Free with Museum admission

  • Performance

    ETHEL and Friends

    Saturday, April 25, 5:00–8:00 p.m.

    Free with Museum admission

  • Performance

    ETHEL and Friends

    Friday, May 1, 5:00–8:00 p.m.

    Free with Museum admission

  • Performance

    ETHEL and Friends

    Saturday, May 2, 5:00–8:00 p.m.

    Free with Museum admission

  • Performance

    ETHEL and Friends

    Friday, May 8, 5:00–8:00 p.m.

    Free with Museum admission

Results per page
Balcony Lounge

Exclusively for Members at the Sustaining level and above, this new space offers a delicious menu of beverages and light snacks.

Cover of brochure

Featuring: The Civilians, John Zorn, La Celestina, Charles Lloyd, Oscar nominee Jóhann Jóhannsson, Donatella Versace, and more.

View the spring 2015 brochure.