About The Met/ Fellowships/ Art History Fellowships

Art History Fellowships

Art History Fellowships at The Met are an opportunity for scholars from around the world to use the Museum as a place for exchange, research, and professional advancement. The Fellows are fully integrated into the life of The Met and, through weekly gatherings and discussions, take part in research sharing and workshops that explore the inner workings of The Met. Fellows are given a workspace and access to libraries, collections, research facilities, labs, and the time and space to think.

Program Information

All fellows, with the one exception of Theodore Rousseau Fellows, must be in residence at The Met during the fellowship period.

All fellowships must take place between September 1, 2017, and August 31, 2018.

PhD candidates, postdoctoral researchers, and senior scholars are eligible to apply.

Junior fellows are those applicants who are currently working on their PhD; senior fellows are those who hold a PhD on the date of application and/or are well-established scholars.

The Slifka Foundation Interdisciplinary Fellowship and the Polaire Weissman Fund Fellowship are open to candidates who have completed their master's degree or are in the process of completing their PhD.

Applicants submit a specific research proposal that makes use of the Museum's collection and/or resources, and accepted fellows spend the majority of their time working on that project.

All fellows, with the one exception of Theodore Rousseau Fellows, can be asked to assist the hosting curatorial departments with projects that complement their approved proposal. Not all departments request this assistance.

The Met offers a Slifka Foundation Interdisciplinary Fellowship for training in an interdisciplinary approach, joining art-historical research with technical investigation of the Museum's Northern Renaissance paintings. The Museum also offers a small number of Theodore Rousseau Fellowships for travel abroad to conduct research related to paintings in European collections.

The number of fellowships awarded depends on funds and resources available.

The stipend amount for one year is $42,000 for junior fellows and $52,000 for senior fellows, with up to an additional $6,000 for travel (maximum of six weeks).

See a list of endowed fellowships.

How to Apply

All applications must be submitted online and in English. We will not accept applications or related materials via email, postal mail, or in person.

The online application will require you to provide the following:

1. Documents as Microsoft Word or PDF files:

  • Full curriculum vitae of education, professional experience, honors, awards, and publications
  • Project proposal including:
    • A two-part statement, not to exceed one thousand words, specifying what you wish to accomplish during the fellowship period and detailing how you can utilize the Museum's resources to accomplish your goals
    • Tentative schedule of work to be accomplished during the fellowship period
    • Tentative schedule of travel required (maximum of six weeks) during the fellowship period
  • For predoctoral applicants only: official undergraduate and graduate transcripts
  • List of any non–Metropolitan Museum fellowships or grants for which you have applied in the same period

2. Contact information for three recommenders (at least one academic and one professional), none of whom may be current Metropolitan Museum of Art staff. Once you have submitted your recommenders' names, titles, and email addresses, they will automatically be emailed instructions for uploading their letters online. Please note that each letter must include the recommender's complete title and contact information. We encourage recommenders to submit letters in English.

The deadline for all application materials, including transcripts and letters of recommendation, is November 4, 2016, at 5 pm (ET).

Apply now.

If you have any questions about the application process, please contact us.

All applicants for the 2017–2018 year will be notified by February 24, 2017.